Atlanta Humane Society Blog

August 13, 2010

Adventures in Fostering

Hi, all! I’m a new foster mom and I want you guys to know all about what it’s like. This new series will give you a look into what it’s like to care for newborn puppies up until their adoption time.

Lucy, the pups’ mom, has a new home…and it’s with me! I’m warning you now that fostering may lead to more pets in your household. It’s so easy to become attached to an animal, no matter how long they are in your house. I had been looking for a home for Lucy, but realized that I didn’t like the idea of letting her go. So after giving it some thought and weighing the different outcomes, I adopted Lucy today. I’m very happy and she slept through it after being given the complimentary cozy corral pet bed that now comes with adoption. Check out the picture of her adoption and stay tuned for one last post on the last two puppies with their adopter!

2 Comments »

  1. So happy you are keeping Lucy; I’m sure it’ll be a lot easier on her not having to make another adjustment, and easier on you not having to say goodbye to her! I was asking about her and was told you were going to adopt her. I truly don’t know how people can stand being fosters; I would never be able to let the animals go! I definitely admire those of you who can do it.

    Where’s the pic of Lucy’s adoption?

    Best wishes to you and Lucy,
    Genie

    Comment by genie — August 14, 2010 @ 6:03 am

  2. Congratulations! We call these “foster failures”.. not because the dog couldn’t be adopted but because we couldn’t give them up! 🙂 Fostering isn’t for everyone and it’s hard not to get attached. The trick is finding a home for them as soon as possible – before you get to the point of no return! Good luck with Lucy. She’s lucky to have you!

    Comment by Cherrie — August 18, 2010 @ 2:55 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

