Atlanta Humane Society Blog

August 5, 2010

Adventures in Fostering

Hi, all! I’m a new foster mom and I want you guys to know all about what it’s like. This new series will give you a look into what it’s like to care for newborn puppies up until their adoption time.

Last week I learned that my pups wouldn’t be ready for adoption for at least two more weeks. I was not expecting this news and while I was thrilled to be able to spend more times with the pups I began to realize that my “system” of keeping them just wasn’t working out anymore. I do not have a fenced yard and while the pups were little this was not a problem, but lately they have had such an explosion of energy and they love being outside. They always wanted more time outside than I could give them. I think this need for exercise led them to be a little yappy at times, which used up all of my family’s patience with them.

When another foster parent, who knew of my struggles with the pups, offered to foster them for their remaining time I knew it was the right thing for them, but I knew it would be difficult to give up the four little pups that have grown up in front of me. I accepted her offer and we made the switch, even though I was sad to hand the pups over. She has been updating me on the pups progress in the last couple of days and they are doing great! She recently told me that the pups have been playing outside so much and are really enjoying her yard. Tomorrow she is planning on bringing in the two bigger pups, both boys, to see if they are ready to be adopted. AHS really has a wonderful group of foster parents and I am so thankful that an expert foster parent stepped in to help me. As for this series, I plan on keeping you guys updated through the pups’ new foster mom. So stay tuned to see when these little guys will be ready for adoption!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

